Good Safari Guide Awards Finalists Announced

The 2011 Safari Awards Finalists Announced

Over 315 nominations in 20 categories were received from 1510 consumers and 381 safari specialists for The 2011 Safari Awards. A complete list of finalists can be seen at

The Safari Awards Winners will be announced the night before Indaba starts on Friday 6th May, at 7.30pm at Moyo ( in the presence of over three hundred of the 'safari world's' leading tour operators and product owners and around fifty media and press personalities.  A great evening is planned starting with a Champagne reception and a three course gourmet dinner complete with wines presented by Michelle Garforth, the well known environmental journalist based in South Africa.  You can reserve your place at the event by buying tickets online at:
or emailing

The Safari Awards is judged by 14 'safari experts' from independent tour operators from the USA, UK, Holland, Germany and South Africa. Companies represented include Steppes Africa, Original Travel, Jacana Tours, Scott Dunn, Okavango Tours & Safaris, Thika Travel, Timeless Africa, Cedarberg Travel, Tanzania Odyssey, Hippo Creek Safaris, Safari Consultants, Pulse Africa, Audley Travel and To Escape To. Detail on the Safari Awards Judges can be found at:

This year there are three new categories recognising the crucial part that wildlife conservation, and the personalities behind the organisations, play in the safari tourism success story. David Shepherd, the celebrity wildlife artist, features in both the 'Best Personal Contribution to Safari Tourism in Africa' and 'Best Wildlife Organisation Operating In Africa' reflecting his work as an individual and through his charity.

The Jane Goodall Institute also features amongst the finalists in the 'Best Wildlife Organisation Operating In Africa' category. In the 'Best Personal Contribution to Safari Tourism in Africa' category legends including Garth Thompson and Robin Pope are joined by the long deceased but not forgotten Norman Carr.  In the "Best Personal Contribution To Wildlife Conservation In Africa' category Grant Cumings, Diana Hunter and Charles Brightman who work alongside safari camps are joined by Craig Sholley and Colin Bell.

For further information please contact:

Jackie Mwansa-Harris via


Jackie Mwansa-Harris
Communications Manager
The Safari Awards