KAZA UNIVISA Announcement

The governments of the Republics of Zambia and Zimbabwe are pleased to announce the launch of the Kavango Zambezi Tran-frontier Conservation Area (KAZA) UNIVISA on November 28, 2014. The Ministers of Home Affairs and tourism representatives from both countries will officiate at the event which will take place at the Victoria Falls Bridge. The UNIVISA will become effective on the launch day.

What is UNIVISA?

The KAZA UNIVISA is a common tourist visa for the SADC region which will be piloted by Zambia and Zimbabwe for 6 months. After the pilot period, the UNIVISA is intended to be rolled out to 3 other countries in the KAZA region, namely Angola, Botswana, and Namibia. More countries in the SADC (Southern African Development Community) region are expected to join in the UNIVISA initiative at the later phase.

Zambia and Zimbabwe were selected to pilot the KAZA UNIVISA following the successful co-hosting of the 20th session of the UNWTO (UN World Tourism Organization) General Assembly which facilitated seamless border crossing of delegates between the two countries.

Eligible Borders

The UNIVISA will be effective immediately after the launch on November 28, 2014 and will be administered at 8 ports of entry as follows:

KK International Airport
Harry Mwaanga International Airport
Victoria Falls Border
Kazungula Border

Harare International Airport
Victoria Falls International Airport
Victoria Falls Border
Kazungula Border


The UNIVISA will be issued at a standard fee of US$50