Zimbabwe Government Appoints New ZTA Board

Chipo Mtasa has been appointed chairperson of the new Zimbabwe Tourism Authority board of directors

The Ministry of Tourism and Hospitality Industry has appointed a new eight member board of directors for the Zimbabwe Tourism Authority (ZTA) that will be chaired by TelOne chief executive officer Chipo Mtasa.

Addressing journalists in Harare on Monday, tourism minister, Walter Mzembi said the new board comes at a time when there is a general push for government to implement austerity measures in the wake of tightening fiscal space while at the same time being innovative to ensure the accelerated implementation of the Zimbabwe Agenda for sustainable Social-Economic Transformation (Zim-Asset).

"The implementation is being driven by the results based management framework which demands that the board enters into a performance contract with the minister and the board with the respective chief executive," he said.

The new deputy board chairperson is lawyer James Muzangaza. The other board members include chief immigration officer senior assistant commissioner Clemence Masango who was reappointed together with archaeologist Godfrey Mahachi.