More countries dropped from yellow fever list

South Africans who are travelling to and from Eritrea, Somalia, Sao Tome Principe, and Rwanda will no longer be required to produce a yellow fever vaccination certificate when in South Africa, as these countries have been included in the World Health Organisations (WHO) list of countries with low potential for exposure to yellow fever.

This was announced during the 136th session of the WHO executive board meeting, which reviewed countries with risk of yellow fever transmission and countries requiring yellow fever vaccinations.

All travellers will not be required to produce proof of vaccination for the abovementioned countries, and the provision has been made with immediate effect.

Earlier this year, yellow fever requirements were dropped for Zambia and Tanzania.

Source: Tourism Update