Tourism for Tomorrow 2019 - apply before 14th November

This year we celebrate 15 years of the World Travel & Tourism Council’s (WTTC) stewardship of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards! WTTC’s Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are the world’s top accolade in sustainable tourism; they recognise the highest ethical standards in the sector and are respected by industry leaders, governments, and international media alike.

They involve an independent and international judging panel and a transparent and stringent application process; for many years they have been the only sustainable tourism Awards in the world to include an on-site inspection of all Finalists by independent experts. This makes them the global best practice benchmark, setting the standards for others to follow.

Becoming a finalist means: endorsement by a panel of judges comprising internationally acclaimed experts in sustainable tourism; an invitation to the Awards ceremony at the 19th WTTC Global Summit in Seville, Spain on 2-4 April 2019, the 15th year of WTTC’s stewardship of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards; complimentary flights and accommodation to the Ceremony for one person from your organisation; the opportunity to present your project to sustainable tourism leaders at the Tourism for Tomorrow day on 2 April 2019; the opportunity to network with the leaders of the Travel & Tourism sector; outstanding international media exposure.

Since the beginning of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards under WTTC, there have been approximately 2,450 applicants from over 50 countries, 186 finalists, and 62 winners who have demonstrated economic, environmental, and social & cultural benefits from best practices in sustainable tourism.

This year there are 5 new categories chosen to celebrate the 15th anniversary of WTTC’s stewardship of the awards and to align with WTTC initiatives. The categories include: Social Impact, Destination Stewardship, Climate Action, Investing in People, and Changemakers.

  • The Social Impact Award recognises an organisation working to improve the people and places where it operates.
  • The Destination Stewardship Award celebrates organisations that have rejuvenated a place, maintained and developed its authenticity, brought stakeholders together and created something new and attractive.
  • The Climate Action Award seeks to recognise innovative actions through either behaviour change of guests and employees, policy changes or the introduction of technology, to reduce the scale and impacts of climate change.
  • The Investing in People Award recognises an organisation demonstrating leadership in becoming an exciting, attractive and equitable employer in the sector.
  • The Changemakers Award is a newly introduced category which recognises an organisation which has made real, positive and impactful change in a specific area of focus, which will change each year. In 2019, the focus will be on fighting the illegal wildlife trade through sustainable tourism.

The Changemakers Award may be of special interest to many members of Atta, especially given that the focus on combatting the illegal wildlife trade through sustainable tourism is a one-year-only opportunity for those doing great work in this area to be celebrated for their achievements on a global stage. Travel & Tourism has a unique opportunity to provide alternative and sustainable livelihoods for people who live and work alongside some of the most endangered, and in demand, species; as well as combatting demand for illegally traded wildlife products. This category will award those organisations who have made a significant contribution to the protection of flora and/or fauna through their activities.

Fiona Jeffery OBE, Founder and Chairman of the international water development charity Just a Drop, Chair of Atta, and Chairman of the WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, said: “15 years of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is a significant milestone. These awards are regarded as the “Oscars” of the Sustainable Tourism Sector setting the highest standards of achievement in the world. They provide an important benchmark for social, environmental and economic best practise."

Fundamentally they reflect and promote a code of conduct and set of values that the travel and tourism industry should strive and be proud to uphold and have sit in its operational DNA. As our sector continues to expand and evolve, it’s vital we recognise and support innovative businesses who demonstrate sustainable practises and ensure we protect our communities and planet for future generations. I look forward to marking a special year.”

Apply online now: 

Deadline: 14th November 2018

Previous winners from Africa:

2017 Destination Award - Botswana Tourism

2017 Community Award - Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya

2016 Environment Award - Wilderness Safaris

2014 Sustainable Business Award - Asilia Africa

2013 Environment Award - &Beyond

2011 Community Benefit - Guludo Beach Lodge, Mozambique

2011 Conservation Award - Singita Pamushana, Zimbabwe

2009 Community Benefit Award - Zakoura Foundation for Micro Credits, Morocco

2006 Conservation Award - Campi ya Kanzi, Kenya  

2005 Conservation Award - Damaraland Camp, Namibia


Previous finalists from Africa:

2018 Community Award - &Beyond, South Africa

2018 Environment Award - Chumbe Island Coral Park, Tanzania

2017 People Award - Desert and Delta Safaris, Botswana

2016 Destination Award - V&A Waterfront, South Africa

2015 Community Award - Grootbos Nature Reserve, South Africa

2014 Community Award - Abercrombie & Kent, Kenya

2014 Community Award - Basecamp Explorer Kenya, Kenya

2014 Environment Award - Great Plains Conservation, Botswana/ Kenya

2014 People Award - Central College Nottingham and the Institute of Travel & Tourism of The Gambia, UK and The Gambia

2014 People Award - Tracker Academy, South Africa

2013 Environment Award - The Bushcamp Company

2013 Sustainable Business Award - Abercrombie & Kent, Kenya

2012 Conservation Award - Cheli & Peacock, Kenya

2012 Conservation Award - Namib Rand Safaris, Namibia

2012 Sustainable Business Award - Wilderness, South Africa

2011 Destination Stewardship Award - Isimangaliso Wetland Park Authority, South Africa

2011 Conservation Award - Fregate Island Private, Seychelles

2011 Conservation Award - The Jane Goodall Institute Uganda/ Budongo Ecotourism Development Project, Uganda

2011 Community Benefit Award - Pride ‘N Purpose Ulusaba Private Game Reserve, South Africa

2010 Conservation Award - Singita Grumeti Reserves, Tanzania

2010 Community Benefit Award - Namibia’s Communal Conservancy Tourism Sector, Namibia

2010 Global Tourism Business - Wilderness Safaris, South Africa

2009 Community Benefit Award - Ol Donyo Wuas, Kenya

2008 Conservation Award - Grootbos Nature Reserve, South Africa

2008 Investor in People Award - Fair Trade Tourism, South Africa

2008 Global Tourism Business - Serena Hotels & Lodges, Kenya and Global

2007 Global Tourism Business - Wilderness Safaris, South Africa

2006 Conservation Award - Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Retreat, South Africa

2005 Conservation Award - Manda Wilderness Project (including Nkwichi Lodge), Mozambique

2005 Investor in People - Conservation Corporation Africa, South & East Africa

2005 Investor in People - Cook-up with Kamamma @Dreamcatcher, South Africa